The Light Beyond Bereavement Forum Bereavement StoreMovieBlogSympathy Ecards
Kindness in another's trouble, courage in your own...

Go Back   The Light Beyond Bereavement Forums > Loss of a loved one > Loss of a friend
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old June 7th, 2007, 02:56

Default Dual Role Doesn't Work

I'm a hospice social worker. About six months ago, a friend of mine was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. After aggressive treatment failed, she signed on to the hospice where I worked with the understanding that I would be her social worker.

Bottom line: we kept her comfortable physically, spiritually,and emotionally, and she died a peaceful death. T

I wish I'd asked that she be assigned to the other social worker, though. Trying to determine where our professional relationship ended and our friendship began all but tore me in two. For instance, when I stayed all night so her husband could get some rest, was I acting as a friend, a social worker, or both? And if I didn't know,then my agency certainly didn't. If you work in the medical profession in any capacity, be smarter than I was. Don't treat your friends. It just hurts too, too much.

I will never make the mistake of trying to work with a dyring friend in a professional capacity again.
Old June 7th, 2007, 09:36

I imagine it would be a hard line to see. When my Grandpa's health was in decline he opted to go to a nursing home that happened to be where my aunt worked. They had her working a different area and she made sure to stop by during breaks or at the end of the work day.

Do you feel you held back since you were dealing with her on a professional level as well? I'm sorry you felt such conflict. Now you know if, God forbid, the situation arises again.
Old June 7th, 2007, 11:28